RSS

Total Recall: A Review (Kinda)

06 Aug

* WARNING – This post contains spoilers. So if you plan on watching the movie, don’t read any further (though, it may save you some time…)!

Okay, so many of you know I really wasn’t happy that they were remaking this movie. As a matter of fact, I was adamantly against even seeing this movie. But, G wanted to do something last night and, like we do many other Sundays, we decided on the Drive-in. We had seen DKR already and were not up for Ice Age so…Total Recall it was.

I don’t own this image…all rights reserved…blah blah blah

So, even though I wasn’t excited to watch this, I decided to sit back and try to enjoy it. I mean honestly it usually doesn’t matter what I’m watching there, I ALWAYS like going to the drive-in. I also decided to view the movie and review it objectively. Here it goes:

First, I have to give praise to the setting. I really love the atmosphere of the city. I love the vibe of movies like Blade Runner, and this kinda lent a bit of that feeling to it.

That’s where my praise ends. There are SO many elements missing from this movie that I was appalled.

First – They didn’t even really begin to implant the memories at Recall. In the original, them doing so gave a bit more credibility to the fact that, hey, maybe it IS all in his head.

Second – They took away the martian landscape. WTF?!  That was the WHOLE POINT of the story…

Third – The awesome scene where he was dressed up as a fat lady at the airport…nope. They have a lady say the lines, but it’s just a distraction as he is just disguised as someone else. Not even really in a cool way.

Fourth – No Johnny Cab…boo.

Fifth (and most important in my eyes) – The resistance is not martians/mutants, their fight didn’t really seem as dire as in the original (you know for something like air! Which, in this one, there is already an atmosphere on mars apparently)…and worst of all THERE IS NO KUATO. Whyyyyyyyyy?!

They left all of that super important information out but kept the prostitute with the 3 boobs. Good Job Sony Pictures 😛

I give this 2 thumbs way down. Even more disappointing than expected. But then again hey, Kate Beckinsale…

YESSSSSSSS!!!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2012 in Reviews & Events

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Total Recall: A Review (Kinda)

  1. Genki Jason

    August 16, 2012 at 11:40 am

    Interesting review. I’m not really a fan of the original and after watching the trailer for the new Total Recall I was intrigued by the prospect of a remake. It reminds me of the video game Deus Ex: Human Revolution. After reading your review I think I’ll pass… I haven’t been to a cinema in a long time. The wait for something worthwhile continues.

     
    • Gazzy

      August 16, 2012 at 6:53 pm

      Thank you for the comment. Objectively, if you did not like the original, you may enjoy the remake. It could show it in a new aspect for you. I can’t really say if you would enjoy it or not, I just know I didn’t. Haha.

       

Leave a Reply

 
